The Luna County Sheriff's Patrol Division is responsible for 2997 square miles of Luna County, 27,000 citizens, 54 miles of border with the Republic of Mexico and concurrent responsibility with two incorporated municipalities. The Patrol Division consist of three shifts of 8 deputies including a Lieutenant,m,Sergeant, Corporal, and several deputies. The Patrol Division manages 24-hour response to calls for service ranging from motorist assistance to homicides and everything in between.